CCE for Classes IX to X

As per this the report of a student for Class IX and X will be made as per following:

Part 1: Scholastic Areas

Six assessments are done:

Type of assessment
Percentage of weighting in academic session
Term wise weighting
  First Term    

Formative assessment-1


Formative assessment-2


Summative assessment-1
















  Second Term    

Formative assessment-3


Formative assessment-4


Summative assessment-2
















Total Formative Assessments (FA) = FA1+ FA2 + FA3 +FA4 = 40%
Summative Assessments (SA)= SA1+ SA2 = 60%

A nine point grading scale for measuring Scholastic achievements is given below:

Marks Range
Grade Point
A1 91-100 10.0




B1 71-80 8.0




C1 51-60 6.0




D 33-40 4.0




E2 00-20 2.0

Minimum qualifying grade in all the subjects under Scholastic Domain is D.

Part 2: Co-Scholastic Areas

CCE logo

Part 2 consists of Co-Scholastic Areas where students’ are assessed in four parts on a Five Point Grading Scale.

Part 2(A): Life Skills

Thinking Skills: Self-Awareness, Problem Solving, Decision Making, Critical and Creative Thinking

Social Skills: Interpersonal Relationships, Effective Communication and Empathy

Emotional Skills: Managing Emotions and Dealing with Stress

Part 2(B): Work Education

Cookery Skills, Preparation of stationery items, Tying and dyeing and screen printing, Recycling of paper, Hand embroidery, Running a book bank, Repair and maintenance of domestic electrical gadgets, Computer operation and Maintenance, Photography etc.

Part 2(C): Visual and Performing Arts

Music (Vocal, Instrumental), Dance, Drama, Drawing, Painting, Craft, Sculpture, Puppetry, Folk Art forms etc.

Part 2(D): Attitude and Values towards

Teachers, School-mates, School Programs & Environment and Value Systems.

Part 3: Co-Curricular Activities

Part 3 consists of Co-Curricular Activities wherein choice in participation and assessment thereof is available. It has two sub parts to be assessed on a five-point grading scale.

Part 3(A): Suggestive activities (Any two to be assessed)

  • Literary and Creative Skills:  Debate, Declamation, Creative Writing, Recitation, Essay Writing Poster-Making, Slogan Writing etc.

  • Scientific Skills: Science Club, Projects, Math Club, Science Quiz, Science Exhibition, Olympiads, etc.

  • Information and Communication Technology (ICT): PowerPoint Presentation, Website and Cover Page Designing, Communication, Animation, Programming, E-books etc.

  • Organizational and Leadership Skills (Clubs): Eco Club, Health & Wellness Club, Disaster Management Leadership Skills Club, AEP and other Clubs.

Part 3(B): Health and Physical Activities (Any two to be assessed)

  • Sports/ Indigenous sports (Kho-Kho etc.)
  • NCC / NSS
  • Scouting and Guiding
  • Swimming
  • Gymnastics
  • Yoga
  • First Aid
  • Gardening/Shramdaan

Students will be assessed on any two activities from each group 3(A) and 3(B).

Assessment of Co–Scholastic Areas 2(A), 2(B), 2(C), 2(D) and 3(A), 3(B) will be done on 5 point Scale (shown in the table below)-

Grade Point
A 4.1-5.0



C 2.1-3.0



E 0.0-1.0

Minimum qualifying grade in Co-Scholastic Domain is D.

The Scheme of grade points in Co-Scholastic Areas/Activities is given as below (Ref CBSE Circular no CBSE/CE/CCE/2012 dated 19th Jan 2012):

Grade points in Co-Scholastic Areas/Activities
1 2(A) Life Skills 3X5=15
2 2(B) Work Education 1X5=5
3 2(C) Visual and Performing Arts 1X5=5
4 2(D) Attitude and Values 4X5=20
5 3(A) Co-Curricular Activities 2X5=10
6 3(B) Health and Physical Education 2X5=10
  Total         65

Policy of up-scaling of grades in Scholastic Areas on the basis of grades obtained in Co- scholastic Areas/ Activities:

Students’ grades in scholastic areas may be upgraded to the next higher grade in one or two subjects depending upon the range of grade points obtained by him/her in co-scholastic areas/ activities. The following scheme is to be followed for up-scaling the grades in scholastic areas:

  1. Those Students who get total grade points in co-scholastic areas/ activities in the range 53-65 may benefit by getting upgraded to the next higher grade in two subjects in scholastic areas.

  2. Those students who get total grade points in the range 40-52, may benefit by getting upgraded to the next higher grade in one subject in scholastic area.

  3. The up-scaling of Grade in Scholastic Areas is applicable in Main Subject only (i.e. excluding Additional 6th Subject).

  4. No Grade should be up-scaled twice.

  5. No up-scaling is done if the Grade obtained in the subject is E2 or A1.

  6. Up-scaling is done from lowest grade to next higher grade and so on. (Example: E1 be up-scaled to D, D to C2, C2 to C1, C1 to B2, B2 to B1, B1 to A2 and A2 to A1).

  7. In case of tie in Grades in two or more subjects (i.e. if Grades obtained are same), the up-scaling be done in following order:

    • Higher marks obtained in the subject be preferred.
    • In case of tie in marks, higher marks obtained in Summative Assessments (SA1+SA2).
    • In case of tie in Summative Assessments marks, higher marks obtained in Formative Assessments (FA1+FA2+FA3+FA4).

  8. Benefit shall be given to the students who win I/II positions/prizes in competitions held at state level and/or participation in competitions held at national/international level organized by a body recognized by the state/central Government/CBSE. Any competition organized by such agencies related to the co-scholastic areas/ activities included in the Board’s CCE card may be considered for giving this benefit. Those students who qualify under this provision will benefit by getting their grade up-scaled to the next higher grade in two subjects provided this benefit has not been given to the student under the aforesaid grade point scheme.


Please follow the following links to know more about the CCE for various classes: