CCE for Classes I to II

CCE logo
  • There are two formal examination for Classes I and II. The teacher will evaluate the students through continuous and comprehensive evaluation [CCE]. The testing can be done simultaneously while teaching or separately.

  • Most of the time the students will not be aware that they are being tested. Assesments can be done through observations, activities, oral or written class tests.

  • There will be minimum 8 cycles of CCE.

  • One cycle of CCE means that all the students of the class are tested in all the competencies.

  • They should obtain at least ‘C’ grade. If a child gets ‘D’ grade in some competencies, the teacher should repeat the cycle.

  • Therefore tentatively 10 cycles of CCE are planned in advance; so as to ensure that at least 8 cycles are completed by all the students securing at least Grade ‘C’ in all the competencies by March.

Part 1: Scholastic Areas

Performance will be measured in 8 cycles:

In languages (Hindi and English), performance will be assessed for the following skills:

  • Reading - Pronunciation, Fluency, Comprehension
  • Writing - Creative Writing, Hand Writing, Spelling, Grammer, Vocabulary
  • Listening - Comprehension
  • Speaking - Conversation, Recitation

In mathematics, performance will be assessed using the following criteria:

  • Activity
  • Understanding of basic concept
  • Mental ability
  • Problem solving and tables

In EVS, performance will be assessed using the following criteria:

  • Observation, Identification (Griop and general discussion)
  • Awareness for Environmental sensitivity
  • Activity and/or Project

Part 2: Co-Scholastic Areas

Performance will be measured in three areas i.e. in games, art/craft and music/dance.

  • Games: The student will be assessed for Enthusiasm, Discipline, Team Spirit and Talent (Strength, stamina and speed).
  • Art/Craft: The criteria for assessment are Interest, Creativity and Skill.
  • Music/Dance: The student will be assessed for Interest, Rhythm and Melody.

Part 3: Personality Development Areas

The student will be assessed for following personal and social traits:

  • Courteousness
  • Confidence
  • Care of belongings
  • Neatness
  • Regularity and punctuality
  • Initiative
  • Self-control
  • Respect for other’s property
  • Sharing and caring

Assessment will be done on 5 point Scale (shown in the table below)-

Marks Range
Grade Points
A+ or A* (Outstanding) 90-100 5.0
A (Excellent) 75-89 4.0
B (Very Good) 60-74 3.0
C (Good) 33-59 2.0
D (Scope of Improvement) 00-32 1.0

Minimum qualifying grade in each Domain is C. If a child gets D` grade in some competencies, the cycle will be repeated.

Please follow the following links to know more about the CCE for various classes: